Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: [FIXED] Color Picker

Color Picker 31 May 2013 10:34 #7264

  • lander083077
  • lander083077's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
The color picker is not working correctly. It is functional, but most of the color wheel is hidden behind input fields. I've tried on IE, firefox, and chrome with the same issue. Also have the same issue running on my localhost as well as inside the sandbox.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Color Picker 31 May 2013 17:09 #7268

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 987
  • Karma: 140
I know this one and I have to fix it.

Now, I am busy with other things.

It seems to be a simple CSS problem.
If somebody find the problem it can be fixed faster.
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Color Picker 04 Jun 2013 22:11 #7332

  • VeCrea
  • VeCrea's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Absolute JCook fan
  • Posts: 473
  • Thank you received: 100
  • Karma: 30
Could it be the same kind of problem as one i had last week :
the calendar box was appearing bellow a white line that contains my main menu.
I had to change the media/system/css/calendar-jos.css file and add an higer z-index for the calendar to appear totally.
Maybe it's related to mooRainbow.css ? Or don't you use it ? (i never used the cook color picker so wouldn't know)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Color Picker 05 Jun 2013 08:52 #7334

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 987
  • Karma: 140
All those problems comes from the template.

Personally, I do not understand why the template CSS file must be the last to be loaded (Standard way).
Sometimes, the templates apply styles on all inputs, such the default Joomla template, so it is tricky to sort it out.
Same with Bootstrap when it runs on Joomla 2.5 (or 1.6 or 1.7), it is a nightmare with the icons. JDom is trying to furnish the compatibility layer, but the work is not finished. (You wanted the new version, here it is... ;-) )

I am searching. I do not find solution for the moment.

Help is welcome.
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Color Picker 05 Jun 2013 08:54 #7335

  • VeCrea
  • VeCrea's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Absolute JCook fan
  • Posts: 473
  • Thank you received: 100
  • Karma: 30
It is a good thing template.css is the last to be loaded, then it's up to the template creator to do his job and code it right
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Color Picker 05 Jun 2013 11:56 #7340

  • lander083077
  • lander083077's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
This quick fix in the colorpicker.css worked for me
.colorpicker input {
	background-color: transparent !important;
	border: 1px solid transparent !important;
	position: absolute;
	font-size: 9px !important;
	font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif !important;
	color: #898989 !important;
	top: 2px !important;
	right: 11px;
	text-align: right;
	margin: 0!important;
	padding: 0!important;
	height: 12px !important;
	width: 30px !important;
}

I tried at first to do it without using !important, but it was a pain in the ...
..and here is what it looks like after:

The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: admin

Re: Color Picker 05 Jun 2013 13:09 #7342

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 987
  • Karma: 140
Thank you very much.
I will try and fix the issue.

You have no choice to use !important.
I think it is impossible to solve without this trick.

But how will it appears in IE ?
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Color Picker 05 Jun 2013 14:51 #7351

  • lander083077
  • lander083077's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
It displays correctly on the latest versions of chrome, firefox, and IE 10.

I had issues with it on my local host in firefox, but when installing it on the internets it displayed correctly in firefox.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Color Picker 05 Jun 2013 14:56 #7353

  • lander083077
  • lander083077's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
The !important directive should work with IE5.5+, Firefox 1+, Safari 3+, Chrome 1+ according to

Stackoverflow
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Color Picker 05 Jun 2013 16:11 #7355

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 987
  • Karma: 140
Thank you very much.

Fixed for the next upgrade.
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Color Picker 05 Jun 2013 16:13 #7356

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 987
  • Karma: 140
$karma++;
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Color Picker 09 Jun 2013 20:23 #7403

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 987
  • Karma: 140
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Time to create page: 0.085 seconds

Get Started