Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

Need a Search Plugin for my component 15 Nov 2013 06:03 #11614

Hello!

I have created and installed a j-cook component named DojoManager in my site.
It is working perfectly.

But now I want to make a search plugin for this component.
Joomla's default search works fine but it could not include my component in search result.

So, I created a search plugin for dojomanager with the help of this tutorial:
docs.joomla.org/Creating_a_search_plugin

Plugin is installed successfully but on the frontend it is not working at all!.
When i search anything, it gives a blank page.

What I am doing wrong??

Please help me out asap.


Thanks and regards,
NV Infotech.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Need a Search Plugin for my component 15 Nov 2013 10:32 #11615

  • JoomGuy
  • JoomGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Joomla Enthusiast, Lover of Cooking
  • Posts: 1115
  • Thank you received: 195
Hi @nvinfotech,

Whilst I've never written a search plugin, I've seen the convention which is pretty straight-forward...

What version of J! have you written it for?

Mostly, I've found with any plugin development, when they seem to do nothing, most often, the class naming has been done incorrectly... Well, on a quick check of the documentation that you linked to it seems that both J2.5 & J3.2 versions have forgotten to add 1 very important thing!:

The class signature :silly: - class PlgSearchDojomanager extends JPlugin

Basically, you need to paste the following after the require once statement:
class PlgSearchDojomanager extends JPlugin
{
Then, place another closing brace at the end of the file:
}

That should do it... Do check the naming conventions to be sure though. If in doubt, switch on error reporting and I'm sure you'll see the class/file and line number that is the issue.

Hope it helps,

Gez
Need help with your Cook/Joomla Project? . PM me to find out what I can help with. NO time wasters please!!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Need a Search Plugin for my component 15 Nov 2013 18:54 #11624

  • JoomGuy
  • JoomGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Joomla Enthusiast, Lover of Cooking
  • Posts: 1115
  • Thank you received: 195
Did you get this sorted?
Need help with your Cook/Joomla Project? . PM me to find out what I can help with. NO time wasters please!!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Need a Search Plugin for my component 18 Nov 2013 05:08 #11662

Thanks for the reply....

It actually solved my problem by testing....

I tried the solution you give.
In addition to that, there was a problem in require statement in my code.
It was really not used in my plugin so I removed it and tried and fortunately it works for me.

Thanks again for your support.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.058 seconds

First let me congratulate you on an excellent/outstanding product. Just tried for one hour but was very impressed.
Marret (Forum)

Get Started